Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    SoonerFans.com Elite Member JohnnyMack's Avatar
    vCash

Judge orders woman to give up password to hard drive

http://technolog.msnbc.msn.com/_news...-to-hard-drive

What say you, amateur legal geniuses of the SO? Does this violate the 5th amendment?
    Atheist.

vCash

Re: Judge orders woman to give up password to hard drive

Is this different than enforcing a search warrant against your will?

Sooner All-Big XII-2-1+1-1+1 rekamrettuB's Avatar
    vCash

Hell if she doesn't give it to them I'm sure they have folks that can hack it. Probably just trying to save some money. If the laptop was seized as part of the investigation then she needs to give it up. Otherwise the judge will probably see her as not cooperating.

I am no lawyer. Somebody grade my response. I'm sure I'm way off. Common sense rarely is correct.
    And lift up my brother
    To honor this game!

vCash

She has the right to remain silent, IMHO . **** em
    http://www.soonerfans.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=38933&dateline=130040  9398

If God wanted Men to look women in the eyes, He wouldnt have gave em Boobs !

SoonerFans.com Elite Member Viking Kitten's Avatar
    vCash

I can see the Fifth Amendment argument. Seize the computer and hack away, but don't expect her to incriminate herself.

vCash

Quote Originally Posted by Viking Kitten View Post
    I can see the Fifth Amendment argument. Seize the computer and hack away, but don't expect her to incriminate herself.
    What SHE said
    http://www.soonerfans.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=38933&dateline=130040  9398

Sooner All-Big XII-2-1+1-1+1
    vCash

**** the crooked bitch.....
    Hey... maybe T BOONE can pony up and start a Stilleater newspaper... but the players would probably just use it to roll the weed.

vCash

Gotta love the EFF

It's not trivial to break encryption like that

Personally, I'd be afraid of forgetting my password...

vCash