1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Judge orders woman to give up password to hard drive

Discussion in 'South Oval' started by JohnnyMack, Jan 24, 2012.

1. JohnnyMack

JohnnyMack SoonerFans.com Elite Member

2. OUDoc

OUDoc ..............

Is this different than enforcing a search warrant against your will?

3. rekamrettuB

rekamrettuB New Member

Hell if she doesn't give it to them I'm sure they have folks that can hack it. Probably just trying to save some money. If the laptop was seized as part of the investigation then she needs to give it up. Otherwise the judge will probably see her as not cooperating.

I am no lawyer. Somebody grade my response. I'm sure I'm way off. Common sense rarely is correct.

4. olevetonahill

olevetonahill Well-Known Member

She has the right to remain silent, IMHO . **** em

5. Viking Kitten

Viking Kitten SoonerFans.com Elite Member

I can see the Fifth Amendment argument. Seize the computer and hack away, but don't expect her to incriminate herself.

6. olevetonahill

What SHE said

7. Breadburner

Breadburner Well-Known Member

**** the crooked bitch.....

8. yermom

yermom Stayatworkdad

Gotta love the EFF

It's not trivial to break encryption like that

Personally, I'd be afraid of forgetting my password...

9. Midtowner

Midtowner New Member

I don't agree with the Judge at all. I know that if I was a prosecutor, I'd argue that there could not possibly be anything incriminating about the actual password, therefore, her 5th Amendment rights were irrelevant. That said, I think that is a pretty dangerous line of thinking. It'd be just like holding someone in contempt for not telling the police where the murder weapon was. Hopefully, this Judge is overturned. I really disagree with that line of thinking.

10. olevetonahill

Well hell, WE can agree on some things :very_drunk:

11. dwarthog

dwarthog Well-Known Member

I hate that when it happens....