1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Big 12 should go to 14 schools...

Discussion in 'Sooner Football' started by OU_Sooners75, Sep 26, 2011.

1. Sooner Tri

Sooner Tri New Member

Why go to 14 schools? Why not jump straight up to 16 and be the first conference to establish itself as a 'Super Conference'. Four pods of four teams, with OU & tx in different pods.
    I think this would set the Big 12 up for the future, and prevent getting folded into another conference when the rest of them inevitably start going to 16. Play from out front instead of behind!

Last edited: Sep 27, 2011
  2. Eielson

Eielson SoonerFans.com Elite Member

I actually like adding Louisville, Memphis, and South Florida. I'm not an expert on this whole deal, but I think they could easily carry their weight on the financial side. Louisville and Memphis would add a lot for basketball, and with the added perks of being in the Big XII, I think their football could soon be at the level of the three schools that departed. As for the three other schools being added in this scenario, I'm not a big fan of those. Texas and academics are two things I don't think we need more of.

3. OULenexaman

OULenexaman New Member

my 1st thought too...a quiet eviction?

4. Sooner98

Sooner98 New Member

Who said I've never stepped foot in an OU classroom?

I just don't see how getting Rice and Tulane into the Big 12 somehow gives the U. of Oklahoma some sort of huge boost in academic prestige, and if there is some little benefit to it, how that would outweigh the overall prestige of, say, moving to the SEC (which I have advocated all along). The SEC would actually be an academic step up from the Big 12, by the way.

5. OklahomaTuba

OklahomaTuba SoonerFans.com Elite Member

Perhaps its the expectation of the B1G picking off ISU when they expand to 16? (B16?)

6. Eielson