PDA

View Full Version : How many Sooner Fans don't like Barry Switzer?

stoopified
8/28/2007, 11:57 PM
And why?I was startled to read on another thread that some Sooner fans either are indifferent to Barry or plain don't like him.So the question is ,how many Sooner fans don't like Barry and why?

My personal feeling is that most OU fans who do not care for the man are too young to recall the glory days of the '70's and '80's and only know what they have heard or read about the end of the Switzer era.

I don't claim the man is a saint, I do have issues with some of his personal conduct.As a coach he iwas an incredible leader,motivator,recruiter,and better atXs and Os than people give him credit for.As a coach my biggest gripe was Switzers' unwillingness to use the pass.Still when you when 83.7 % of your games(4th all-time in NCAA history) you must be doing something very right.

Barry's philosophy on passing was 3 things can happen when you pass and 2 of them are bad.Oddly enough Barry's arch-rival at UT Benedict Royal had the same attitude dating back to the '50s(yeah I don't like Royal).I have always believed with even an average passing attack Barry's teams would have been unstoppable.

batonrougesooner
8/28/2007, 11:59 PM
How many Sooner fans don't like Barry Switzer?

I don't understand the question.

ouwasp
8/29/2007, 12:15 AM
That's like saying Republicans don't like Ronald Reagan.

Those Sooner fans must have prefered Gary Gibbs. Or even John Blake :eek:

Their credibility is zilch.

freshchris05
8/29/2007, 12:31 AM