PDA

View Full Version : OUDOC??

OUHOMER
7/30/2007, 08:18 AM
got a shot and some pills for my poison ivy. I have had a injured shoulder for over 2 years. pain 24 / 7. since taking the shot and the pills , pain is gone.

this is just weird to me. Is it the pills some kind of steroid?

sooner_born_1960
7/30/2007, 08:23 AM
I'm not a doctor, but even if I were, I couldn't answer without knowing what the pill is. Does it have a name?

OUDoc
7/30/2007, 08:24 AM
I'll usually give a steroid shot OR steroid pills, but I've known many docs who give both at the same time. Either way, you got steroids. If the pain comes back, you should really see an orthopedist (or your doctor) about that shoulder. Just think what a steroid shot into the shoulder joint could do for you.

OUHOMER
7/30/2007, 08:30 AM
Yes. i will see him again if it comes back. I am excited, Dont know how to explain it. No pain is something new for me. But i was willing to live with it instead of surgery. I guess i should have done this years ago. Its amazing how stubborn I am about going to see doctors. Down side of seeing him again was he was talking about getting a prostrate exam because of my age. So I may have to live withe the pain for a while. I assume its the finger wave. I not into that

OUHOMER
7/30/2007, 08:32 AM
by the way the pills are PREDNISONE 20MG (GENIRIC)

OU4LIFE
7/30/2007, 08:34 AM
that's steroid.

could be bursitis too, no Doc?

OUDoc
7/30/2007, 08:36 AM
by the way the pills are PREDNISONE 20MG (GENIRIC)
Yup. Steroid.

If you go in for the shoulder, he probably won't do the finger wave, although he probably will remind you about it.

Could be bursitis or tendonitis, but I'd wonder why it hurt for years and never got any better on it's own.

OUHOMER
7/30/2007, 08:38 AM
well, if i go back, i might as well get the enter psychical . I not getting any younger.

THANKS DOC

OUHOMER
7/30/2007, 08:50 AM
Yup. Steroid.