PDA

View Full Version : My New Toy...OUCH...OOOF...@%!&**#@!

Rogue
6/17/2007, 09:19 AM
:D

http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p99/cjrogue/cr.jpg

It's the Liquid Logic CR (Cross-River) 250. Sort of a "hybrid" kayak for river running and playboating. I don't know if it can do either one because I'm just learning. I do know that it can tip over, the operator can perform a wet-exit (by pulling the oh**** handle on the skirt cover) and bounce said operator through some pretty awful rocks and stuff.

I took 2 days of group lessons and went to one Tuesday night "roll clinic" at our local pool. Well I was hooked. Been wanting to do this for years. Rafted some in Idaho years back and I've done some pretty tame water in inflatable kayaks and sit-on-top ones. Last spring/summer hobbling around after foot surgery I decided that come hell and/or high water I was going to learn to kayak.

I got a little bonus from my 3 month stint in West Virginia, and having more $$ than good sense I got what they call in the motorcycle, new truck, and kayak selling business (at least I'm pretty sure they do and if they don't they should) "THE FEVER."

:hot:

So, I planned yesterday to go to NOC, an area outfitting and guide shop, to buy a boat and the gear I lack, get some lessons, and kick off my new hobby. Long story short, the lessons were all full this weekend due to some teeny-bopper shindig. Unfazed, I demo'd a couple of boats and found one that I can paddle for an hour without my feet falling asleep. I bought it, a helmet, a paddle, a spray skirt, some other gizmos that I couldn't live without and felt pretty proud of myself.

:texan:

Caught a shuttle up to the top of the river and jumped in, fairly confident in my river reading abilities and general knowledge of paddling. Met up with some folks who were taking some other "beginners" along and said I could go with them.:cool:

HO.

LEE.

CARP!