PDA

View Full Version : So I'm buying a new laptop...

ArkanSooner
5/19/2007, 03:27 PM
And I'm trying to decide between a Mac and a regular PC. I'm a college student who only uses the computer for internet, word processing, some audio/video (Youtube, MP3s, etc.) but nothing major. I don't do computer games, make music, anything like that. I've used Dell PC's for the past ten years or so, so I'm really comfortable with Windows-based programs. I've used Macs from friends and at the library and I've been impressed with the limited use I've seen, but like I said I've never owned anything but a Dell. I've had the one I'm on now since I started college three years ago and have never had any problems with it, but I'm needing to buy a laptop now for convenience. I'm transferring to OU in the fall to finish up my undergrad then it's off to medical school in a year or two, so I just need something to help me get through the next five to six years.

I'm leaning towards the Mac but I just had a couple of questions. Will I still be able to use all of the things I use on a fairly daily basis (Adobe Acrobat, Word, Powerpoint, etc.) without much of an adjustment period? I know they have MacOffice and all that but I'm just wanting to make sure. And this is probably a stupid question, but could I transfer files from the Dell to the Mac via a Flash Drive or something similar? Does it make any difference as to whether I get a Macbook or an iBook?

Thanks for your help in advance.

sanantoniosooner
5/19/2007, 03:35 PM
Do you wear crocs and drive a Beetle?

This is critical information.

GottaHavePride
5/19/2007, 03:42 PM