PDA

View Full Version : Fair Tax Pole

Hamhock
5/2/2007, 08:36 AM
I'm reading the Fair Tax book (see the thread of the same name).

Anywho, they pose an interesting question I'd like you to answer:

Do you know how much you paid in federal income tax in 2006?

You don't have to put the amount. I'm interested in knowing if you know.

I'm not talking about the amount of refund you got or the amount of the check you wrote on April 15, but the total amount of your federal income tax liablity for 2006.

Do you know?

usmc-sooner
5/2/2007, 08:38 AM
too much

Hamhock
5/2/2007, 08:43 AM
too much

i'm looking for a "YES" or a "NO". answer the question you idiot. :texan:

i'll go first. 3 years ago, i couldn't have told you what the total amount was. (and i'm a cpa)

picasso
5/2/2007, 08:47 AM
how much money can they get out of the fair? it's only here once a year isn't it?

jeremy885
5/2/2007, 08:48 AM
yes.

1stTimeCaller
5/2/2007, 09:33 AM
I guess the answer is no. If it's on my 1040 then I could look it up and say yes.

I guess I've just never really cared too much.

Mjcpr
5/2/2007, 09:50 AM
I guess the answer is no. If it's on my 1040 then I could look it up and say yes.

I guess I've just never really cared too much.

Word. It's a lot which I assume is the point you're getting at, but it takes a lot. Ideally there would be only positive government programs and no waste but that's not very likely to happen unfortunately.

skycat
5/2/2007, 09:53 AM
Yes.

Thanks to the TurboTax summary page thingy.

Hamhock
5/2/2007, 10:22 AM
the point i'm getting at is not the amount, but the fact that you don't know.

it's sort of like the frog in the pot of hot water.

would your attitude be different if, instead of it being taken from your paycheck little by little, you had to write one big check each year?

Taxman71
5/2/2007, 10:27 AM
Yes.