PDA

View Full Version : Trying to start the home buying process.

colleyvillesooner
1/30/2007, 03:46 PM
I am done throwing money away on rent for a townhome, and they want to raise it! I know I can get a house for cheaper than I pay now. I went through a trusted realtor and he gave me a mortgage guy who ran my application. I don't have any money to put down. I am also a USAA member if that matters. I have heard that their mortgage rates are beatable, but there homowners insurance is pretty good.

I just got off the phone with him, and he said I could qualify for the range I am looking at. Basically a house that is in the $120,000-$145,000 range is what I need to get my monthly payment where I need it. I have never done anything like this before so I thought I would throw out everything I heard in the phone conversation to you guys and see what is what, or get direction on where to head to learn more about it.

He talked about 3 scenarios:

1) an 80/20 loan so there is no PMI (private mortgage insurance).

2) a 100% finance loan. I would have to self insure and all the interest is deductible. (is this more expensive per month)

3) a 100% loan w/ PMI - only a portion of the interest is deductible.

I could have messed some of that up, but I tried to write it down as he said it. Feel free to say "There's no way that's right" or "you're an idiot". :D

Again, any advice, knowledge, or directions on where to go to find more info would be great. I am a house noob. Be gentle. :D

Mjcpr
1/30/2007, 03:51 PM
On an 80/20 you're going to have to come up with the 20 yourself aren't you? And you said you had no $ for a down payment.

I've never heard of self-insuring instead of paying PMI.

I thought all of the interest was deductible always.

I'm not an expert. YWIA.

NormanPride
1/30/2007, 03:53 PM
I am curious about this as well. What % would one look at for a down payment, if that was an option?

Mjcpr
1/30/2007, 03:58 PM