PDA

View Full Version : Capel's capabilities...

TJKDone
1/28/2007, 10:08 AM
Give me a sooner perspective on what you see to be Coach Capel's strengths and weaknesses thus far.

Hook'em

Okieflyer
1/28/2007, 10:14 AM
Too early to tell. But he's sure got more out of this team than I thought he could. They played your horns a lot better than I thought and the both aggies better. We'll see when he gets better talent.

By the way, what are all those little red dots under your avatar?;)

King Crimson
1/28/2007, 10:18 AM
i think Coach does a pretty good job getting effort and while i was a supporter of Coach Sampson......his teams did a very poor job of getting looks against a zone D. which is part of the reason lesser teams went zone against us in conference. after losing a 3 point designate like Timmy Heskett or Hollis....we tanked against a well-played zone.

i like Capel's motion O, and once we get some players who can shoot the ball i think we'll be pretty good. when was the last time one of Kelvin's teams scored on the backdoor cut?

badger
1/28/2007, 02:56 PM
they fought the aggies till the end!!!

TJKDone
1/28/2007, 06:24 PM
Without having any headcoaching experience to judge him by, I had a strong sense that he'd be a bit better X/O guy than Sampson. That seems to be the opinion you guys have expressed.

The questions that aren't answered thus far:

1) whether or not he can summon the messianic level of intensity that always characterized you guys under Sampson

2) whether he can recruit the elite athletes required to compete at the highest level year in and out.

I personally like Joe C's hiring practice thus far and believe that Capel will be a very good coach for you in the long run.

Hook'em

OSUAggie
1/28/2007, 10:15 PM
Without having any headcoaching experience to judge him by, I had a strong sense that he'd be a bit better X/O guy than Sampson. That seems to be the opinion you guys have expressed.

The questions that aren't answered thus far: