PDA

View Full Version : Looking at Dogs, Could use some Help.

poke4christ
12/5/2006, 09:51 AM
Hey guys,

I've wanted to get a good dog after I graduated for some time. I've still got a semester or two left, but yesterday I let myself get carried away and started researching. Here's a rundown of what I've got so far.

Top Character Traits

1. Intelligence
2. Good with Children (gotta plan for the future)
3. Cold Weather Tolerant (plan on living in Colorado)
4. Obedience/Protective/Trainability
5. Good Health
6. Good for Jogging

Top Breeds (so far)

1. German Shepherd/White Shepherd
2. Native American Indian Dog
3. Golden Retriever
4. Husky
5. Saint Bernard

Othes Considered:
Pit Bull Terier/Bulldog, Belgian Malinois, English Setter, Labrador Retriever

As you can probably tell, I'm mostly looking for a large dog of 50+ lbs. Also, I'd like to start training it from early on in life so I would have a very well manored, obedient, and loyal dog. Finally, I love the winter dog/wolf look that Huskies and some Native American Indian Dogs have.

Basicly, my questions for you guys are these:

-Where is a good place to research dogs on the internet?
-Are there any books you would suggest?
-Are there any breeds that fit my qualifications well that I haven't mentioned?
-Where should I look to buy? The breeders I have seen were VERY expensive (1500) and I'd prefer not to spend that much.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions you guys can give.

Mongo
12/5/2006, 09:54 AM
Hey guys,

I've wanted to get a good dog after I graduated for some time. I've still got a semester or two left, but yesterday I let myself get carried away and started researching. Here's a rundown of what I've got so far.

Top Character Traits

1. Intelligence
5. Good Health
6. Good for Jogging

Top Breeds (so far)

3. Golden Retriever
4. Husky
5. Saint Bernard

Othes Considered: