PDA

View Full Version : Furnace troubleshooting . . .

Sooner_Bob
10/25/2006, 05:12 PM
Our Armstrong Ultra SX 80 furnace blower won't stop running . . . I switched the heat on the other morning and the blower won't shut off at all. I finally had to unplug the unit to keep it off.

I'm fairly handy and feel comfortable troubleshooting and fixing stuff, but I'm a complete n00b when it comes to furnaces. Where in the world should I start troubleshooting this furnace??

I've got both a Honeywell thermostat and the unit has a Honeywell control board.

TIA!!!!

Mjcpr
10/25/2006, 05:17 PM
Blow out the pilot light and get a lighter so you can see what you're doing in there....

sanantoniosooner
10/25/2006, 05:18 PM
Thermostat is a good place to start.

The blower generally runs after the furnace stops to cool down things inside the unit. It should be on some type of timer. I guess it's possible that the timer has given up the ghost and doesn't ever shut things down. I have limited experience with furnaces, but Locke Supply carries that brand. They might have some good advice for you.

Sooner_Bob
10/25/2006, 05:22 PM
Yesterday I plugged it back in and it didn't kick back on so I left it alone. Then when I got home it had some how started up again.

No heat or anything since I had the thermo set to off, but the blower was still going.

Oh and thanks Pat . . . I'll give that a try. :P

phead903
10/25/2006, 05:40 PM
Did you check to see if the switch for the fan was on "auto" or the "on" position? If it's in the "on" position, the fan will run constantly. If it's in the "auto" position, it will run only while the burners are on, plus a little time to let the system cool down.