PDA

View Full Version : Bud Wilkinson- The Lost Interviews, Part One

The VIIIth
9/14/2006, 12:46 PM
My apologies in advance if this has been posted, I do not remember seeing it. I am also unsure of who to credit, but it is a great, great read.

viii

Bud Wilkinson - the 'Lost Interview' Part I

In late 1982, longtime Georgia Bulldog radio commentator and college sports connoisseur Loran Smith began working on his book, "Fifty Years on the Fifty, the Orange Bowl Story." As part of his research, he sat down with former Oklahoma coach Bud Wilkinson at the Coaches Hall of Fame Football Clinic in Atlanta, on February 26, 1983.

"I had known Bud for many years before that," Smith recalled recently from his Athens, Georgia home. "I had the pleasure of meeting him for the first time in 1965 when he and Jim Simpson came to Athens to broadcast the Alabama - Georgia game for ABC. At the time, I was an intern in the Georgia SID office and my job was to assist Bud and Jim in any way that I could."

"I must have made a favorable impression, because Coach Wilkinson apparently never forgot me after that and always returned my calls and gave me the same kind of respect that he would a journalist with the New York Times or any other famous writer or celebrity. The thing I most remember about him was that he was so courteous and accommodating, added to of the fact that he spoke in such an articulate manner, and in complete sentences as well."

Smith used a few excerpts from the interview in the Orange Bowl book, but afterward the tape feel into a drawer full of interviews with other sports greats and was somewhat forgotten for 23 years until Smith came across it earlier this year. Smith forwarded it to Jakie Sandefer, who played for Wilkinson at OU in 1956 - 1958, and Sandefer in turn, shared it with OU Insider.com and Sooners Illustrated.