PDA

View Full Version : The Katie Couric experiment

jk the sooner fan
9/5/2006, 06:59 PM
ok, so i was mildly curiuos as to how Katie Couric would handle the evening news.......mrs jk likes charlie whats his name on ABC, so thats what we watch...and frankly, he's pretty good

but tonite i put it on CBS - and i didnt like it......put aside whether Katie is hittable or not......its an issue of being "type cast"......tonite the news had a "good morning" feel to it.....

no idea how the rest of america will take to her as an evening news anchor but i'll not be watching it

hurricane'bone
9/5/2006, 07:06 PM
meh. It was the evening news.

What did you think of the "freespeech" thing they are going to have?

jk the sooner fan
9/5/2006, 07:09 PM
i switched it when she got all touchy feely in the interview with Friedman

BOOMERBRADLEY
9/5/2006, 07:42 PM
Didnt watch it.

News just depresses me these days

proud gonzo
9/5/2006, 08:19 PM
i avoid the news. ironic since i'm a journalism student :rolleyes:

StoopTroup
9/5/2006, 08:23 PM
Her eyes looked screwed up to me.

One was smaller than the other one IMO.

swardboy
9/5/2006, 08:26 PM
Rush Limbaugh is on Thursday's "Free Speech" section. That'll get ratings..

AllAboutThe'O'
9/5/2006, 08:33 PM
I have a feeling it'll go the way of the ill-fated Pat Sajak Show, which CBS endlessly trumped as the answer to its late-night ills. Wasn't the case, and CBS continued to be a late-night wasteland until they stumbled on a guy named Letterman.
I don't think Couric can shake the perception of being a "morning talk show" person trying to do the evening news. But correct me if I'm wrong, didn't Tom Brokaw do the Today show before getting the NBC Nightly News anchor spot? He turned out to be pretty good in the end.

OklahomaTuba
9/5/2006, 08:36 PM
Who the hell cares whose reading the words off the teleprompter? BFD.

Funny though, how SeeBS news, the most biased news ever, is using a NY Times hack in their broadcast.

C&CDean