PDA

View Full Version : My scrimmage report and play summaries (long)

SoonerBeau
8/14/2006, 02:29 PM
I have posted this already on both Scout and Rivals, but for the benefit of those that frequent this board, I am posting it here as well.

I just returned from Norman, and as promised, here are my observations. By way of warning, this is my first time doing this and I am hardly a football expert; rather, I am merely a long-time fan. I have not yet read any other practice reports regarding yesterday's scrimmage, so these are only my thoughts and observations. I am quite sure others will have picked up on different things or may differ in opinion. Moreover, I took extensive notes on what happened on each play (e.g., PT pass for 7 yards to M. Johnson left sideline; JH 15 yard pass to JJF, nice run after the catch), most of which I have reproduced here. Keep in mind that I was eye-balling the yardage and probably made a few errors. Moreover, it was impossible to keep track of everything going on while keeping such extensive notes on the main happenings of each play. I am sure others spent more time concentrating on the battle at the line of scrimmage or the play of particular defensive backs or linebackers.

The practice started out with the offense and defense running 7 on 7 passing drills (no linemen). PT and JH took turns at QB with Bradford and McEachern each getting only a few snaps. PT started out rough, throwing INTs on his second and third pass attempts. The first was interecepted by Wolfe, and the second by R. Smith. They both made nice plays on the ball on relatively short passes. Lendy Holmes also had an INT on a PT deep pass into double coverage. It was a very nice one handed interception. Lendy later had another INT of a deep pass overthrown by PT.