PDA

View Full Version : Any skeet or trap shooter ****** *******s?

Soonerbabeinbama
8/12/2006, 07:49 PM
First question is what is the difference between skeet and trap? I'd love to learn how. We have a skeet club here in town. I have never tried before - but I've wanted to for a long time. What type of gun would be appropriate for a female? Is there one that doesn't have too much of a kick? Any info. will be appreciated. I need a hobby and this really appeals to me. TYIA:)

hurricane'bone
8/12/2006, 08:16 PM
:les: SKEET, SKEET, SKEET!!!!!

Flagstaffsooner
8/12/2006, 08:18 PM
Clay disks are thown from traps skeet is shooting them. If you are a small lady you may want to use a 20 gauge shotgun.

Skysooner
8/12/2006, 09:21 PM
There is a big difference. Skeet and trap shooting both involve shooting small clay targets. Skeep specifically is shooting from a specified set of locations and shooting the same set of targets every time. There are crossing targets and targets that appear to be going away or coming towards you. Trap involves mostly shooting targets that are moving away from you, but you don't always know in which direction.

I would recommend skeet for consistency. You can practice all of the different kinds of shots and get good at them.

For a gun, it all depends on what you can afford. There is not much difference in terms of a 12 or 20 gauge in terms of what you can shoot in either trap or skeet. A 20 gauge will have a lighter kick. My recommendation would be to research Benelli shotguns as they have very little kick, are very light, and are among the fastest shooting guns on the market.

StoopTroup
8/12/2006, 09:34 PM
If your ever in Tulsa...

Give these guys a call.

Tulsa Gun club (http://www.claytargetsonline.com/club.php/1496)

I used wholesale/retail tons of Remington Pigeons to Southern Hills back in the late 70's early 80's.

They had a great facilty where the new 9 hole course is now.

Jerk
8/12/2006, 09:50 PM