PDA

View Full Version : Teacher "raises"

Mrs. Norm
7/8/2006, 06:32 PM
As some of you might know, Gov. Henry signed a bill to give ALL teachers a
"3,000 across the board raise". Sounds great, doesn't it? However, as a teacher, I'm very confused. I have been told 2 things:

1. The district that the teachers work for decide what to do with that money. Basically, the state gives each district the money for raises in their budget. Then, that district "decides" how to spend the money. I guess OKC gave raises by seniority the last time this happened. Therefore, not ALL teachers will get $3,000.

2. Some districts already pay their teachers above the state average. If that is the case, the district can use that money however they want. Unions usually get involved to get teachers some of the money.

Is this what Gov. Henry meant by "$3,000 across the board raise"???? All I know is that it is going to tick me off if I end up getting nothing because my district already pays me enough.

If you know anything different about this, please let me know.

SicEmBaylor
7/8/2006, 06:43 PM
I don't know the details of all of this beyond the state employees/teacher pay raise being a compromise between the House tax-cuts and Hobson's wage increases.

Anywhoo,
Here is what I would assume.

"3,000 across the board raise". Sounds great, doesn't it? However, as a teacher, I'm very confused. I have been told 2 things:

1. The district that the teachers work for decide what to do with that money. Basically, the state gives each district the money for raises in their budget. Then, that district "decides" how to spend the money. I guess OKC gave raises by seniority the last time this happened. Therefore, not ALL teachers will get $3,000.

The exact amount will probably vary district to district, but if the state has mandated that those funds distributed to the districts be used for wage increases then wage increases is what you should get.