PDA

View Full Version : **World Cup Thread**

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

Jeopardude
6/8/2006, 10:26 AM
We're about 24.5 hours away from the start of the Month Where USA Pays Slight Attention To Soccer.

1st game: Germany vs. Costa Rica or, per their nicknames the "Mannschaft" vs. the "Ticos". Nicknames alone tip this to Germany. That's a pretty manly name: Mannschaft. Combine with that Germany's home field advantage, Tico injuries, and the preponderance of German talent, I'd give Germany a three goal advantage.

But I'm a newbie, so I'm sure someone else will know better.

birddog
6/8/2006, 10:42 AM
you're pretty much dead on. Germans are hosting. Costa Rica can't defend or hold the ball in the midfield.

A buddy of mine, Brent Sancho, is playing in the World Cup for Trinidad & Tobago.

Injury update- Wayne rooney-England. Will play in World Cup.
Gabriel Cisse- France. Out of World Cup.

there are others.

birddog
6/8/2006, 10:51 AM
http://ussoccer.com/

good site to get familiar with the team.

TUSooner
6/8/2006, 11:05 AM
I hope the USA does very very well, but I'll always be an England man when if comes to "football" -- I can call it that on this thread, huh? ;)
Germany will roll tomorrow.

birddog
6/8/2006, 11:12 AM
yeah, i lived in england for a few years and always had them as "my team" to win the world . the u.s looks to be capable of getting out of their group. i would pull for the u.s against england but it looks like we'll have to get past brazil in the second round if we want a chance to see that.

Scott D
6/8/2006, 11:13 AM
I want to see the US do well....but I'm actively cheering for the Canarinha.

Jeopardude
6/8/2006, 04:50 PM
http://ussoccer.com/

good site to get familiar with the team.

A good spot to get an overview of the whole World Cup is this blog here (http://blogs.iht.com/tribtalk/sports/worldcupcohen/). It did contain this unintentionally hilarious line: