PDA

View Full Version : Tuba Overreact Much?

Scott D
5/26/2006, 12:45 PM
America' remains in class

The Michigan Department of Education is not taking the word "America" or "American" out of the classrooms of Michigan ("Keep 'America' in Michigan schools," May 24, by Michael Warren). No such edict has gone out, or will go out, to school teachers across Michigan.

We are not seeking to do away with the terms "America" or "American" from classroom instruction. It's not going to happen. I consider myself an American. We live in the United States of America. We are citizens of the United States of America. But the vernacular is that we're Americans.

This is very important to me, if not personal. I am an avid student of the life and works of Thomas Jefferson. He was a great American and he helped set the tone and path for all Americans who followed him. The precepts Jefferson set forth set the course for this great nation. That is why we are what we are today.

The conversations and internal communications between diverse members of an independent association of social studies supervisors have been misconstrued as Department of Education policy. I would never approve the removal of "America" or "American" from use in our classrooms. Not on my watch.

Mike Flanagan

Superintendent of Public Instruction

Lansing

wanna try again?

Pricetag
5/26/2006, 12:50 PM
I'd have titled it "Michael Warren Overreact Much?" myself.

Scott D
5/26/2006, 12:52 PM
Oh I should probably add that 'my' quote is from an editorial yesterday, whereas Tuba's was from an editorial the day before.

bri
5/26/2006, 12:53 PM
SEE?!? OUR OUTRAGE WORKED!!!!

BlondeSoonerGirl
5/26/2006, 12:54 PM
SEE?!? OUR OUTRAGE WORKED!!!!

HATING AMERICA IS YOUR BITCH LOVER!!!

Penguin
5/26/2006, 01:09 PM
REMOVE AMERICA FROM ALL TEXT BOOKS!

I WILL NOW BE CALLED A UNITED STATE-IAN!!!!

OUDoc
5/26/2006, 01:14 PM
Norte Americano.

mdklatt
5/26/2006, 01:15 PM
Yes.

TUSooner
5/26/2006, 01:24 PM
What a surprise.