PDA

View Full Version : Aircraft Question - Induced Drag

OrangeRedSooner
5/3/2006, 09:09 PM
Hi everyone. I am new to this board. For anyone who might have a question about my name, I am an OSU graduate who married into a HUGE OU family, and fell in love with going to OU games. I am married to StoupTroop, who many of you know, or should know with the amount of time he spends here...lol!

I know that many times he has posed questions here, and the wealth of knowledge obtained has been amazing. Therefore, I now place before you a question that I will need to answer before tomorrow night for a test that I will be taking. Bonus points are on the line!

Thrust in a helicopter is opposed by drag, specifically 3 types: Parasite, Profile and Induced. Both Parasite Drag and Profile Drag increase with increased airspeeds, but Induced Drag decreases with increased airspeed.

My question is "Why does Induced Drag decrease with increased airspeed?" I have searched, and found 3 possible reasons (because the helicopter moves into undisturbed air, or because of the rotor tip vortices, or because there is less angle of attack due to increased velocity).

Can anyone assist me in answering this question?

Thanks! :twinkies:

sanantoniosooner
5/3/2006, 09:13 PM
Just ask your husband what a typical reply from me would be like.

That'll save me the trouble of typing it.

slickdawg
5/3/2006, 09:15 PM
Well, initially, I would think that the fact that once the helocopter is moving, the airflow would become more laminar, resulting in a decrease in induced drag.

That said, I've asked two aeronautical engineers I know to answer this.

GottaHavePride
5/3/2006, 09:25 PM