PDA

View Full Version : Abortion Outlawed

Mjcpr
2/24/2006, 03:09 PM
I'm no legal expert but how can a state say something is illegal that has been ruled legal by the US Supreme Court? I don't get it.

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,185991,00.html

Fugue
2/24/2006, 03:13 PM
are you pregnant?

they can always make the law, whether or not it ends up flying will again be decided in court.

Okla-homey
2/24/2006, 03:35 PM
I'm no legal expert but how can a state say something is illegal that has been ruled legal by the US Supreme Court? I don't get it.

Its a lot more complicated than that, but Fugue's right...looks to like they're trying to force SCOTUS to take up the issue with the goal of giving them a chance to overturn Roe v. Wade.

IOW, they're betting on the come.

Mjcpr
2/24/2006, 03:37 PM
IOW, they're betting on the come.

Counselor, I believe that is the cause of this whole mess in the first place.

JohnnyMack
2/24/2006, 03:38 PM
Thread reported.

2/24/2006, 03:39 PM
ok, that was funny

Mjcpr
2/24/2006, 03:39 PM
So if you don't like a SCOTUS decision, you can keep passing a law that contradicts that decision in hopes that one day, they'll change their mind?

Fugue
2/24/2006, 03:42 PM
So if you don't like a SCOTUS decision, you can keep passing a law that contradicts that decision in hopes that one day, they'll change their mind?

Yes

Mjcpr
2/24/2006, 03:42 PM
Sweet!!

Sooner Born Sooner Bred
2/24/2006, 03:46 PM
http://www.wormsrus.co.nz/canoworms.jpg

crawfish
2/24/2006, 03:50 PM
I fully support the legalization of retroactive abortion.

Fugue
2/24/2006, 03:51 PM
Sweet!!

It's actually a good example of how things are supposed to work. The Sup. Ct. doesn't make law but decides if the laws that are made jive with the Const. They are like a goalie only they let some through on purpose.

Mjcpr
2/24/2006, 03:52 PM