PDA

View Full Version : For those techies about HD DVD

85Sooner
2/16/2006, 09:45 AM
I have been saying this was going to be a problem for 4 years only to have people tell me I was Crazy.

I may be crazy but I wasn't wrong about this.

http://news.zdnet.com/New+DVDs+already+sparking+copy-protection+confusion/2100-9595_22-6040261.html?part=netscape-zdnet&tag=mynetscape&subj=technews

crawfish
2/16/2006, 09:48 AM
Someday, they're going to make it so hard to watch TV or listen to music we'll all just go outside and exercise instead. :)

Mjcpr
2/16/2006, 09:49 AM
Someday, they're going to make it so hard to watch TV or listen to music we'll all just go outside and exercise instead. :)

I hope that's a long way off.

crawfish
2/16/2006, 09:55 AM
I hope that's a long way off.

http://www.eff.org/deeplinks/archives/004409.php

OUDoc
2/16/2006, 10:23 AM
You're crazy.

;)

Taxman71
2/16/2006, 10:31 AM
I quit being a techie trendsetter and now wait a few years before taking the plunge. It is too expensive and too buggy.

This philosophy was solidified when I saw a buddy's $10,000 42" plasma burn out after 2 years of light use a couple of years ago.

skycat
2/16/2006, 10:45 AM
Eh, just more DRM crap.

For people who buy standalone DVD players and HDTVs, this mostly won't be a concern, as the right plugs will generally already be built in.

Most people will either fall into this camp, or will buy a new computer with a next-gen DVD player installed. This is going to mostly be a problem for do-it-yourself types, who are generally the best equipped to handle it.

That's not to say that these technologies don't have their problems, but that isn't very big news.

85Sooner
2/16/2006, 10:53 AM
Eh, just more DRM crap.

Most people will either fall into this camp, or will buy a new computer with a next-gen DVD player installed. This is going to mostly be a problem for do-it-yourself types, who are generally the best equipped to handle it.