PDA

View Full Version : What should I do?

OUAndy1807
2/12/2006, 09:55 PM
It looks like the wife and I may be staying in OKC for 1 more year due to work and moving next summer. We'll be making twice what we are living off of this year, so we'll have some cash for the first time ever. Should we buy a fixer-upper of a house with the intentions of living in it for the one year and turning it (I work in construction and would be able to have a lot of the work done for little to no money), or should we buy a small acreage south of Norman (Goldsby/Washington area) knowing that in the future we'll be moving back and building a house?

Hublah
2/12/2006, 10:09 PM
I would buy the land myself...then you will always have a place for yourself...why would you not want to own land in GOD's country?? SOONER LAND!!

ChickSoonerFan
2/12/2006, 10:10 PM
Are you saying you would live down there and drive in to OKC everyday? Do you want to make that commute?

Hublah
2/12/2006, 10:11 PM
But the commute would be worth for just one year. Then you have the property for later!

ChickSoonerFan
2/12/2006, 10:17 PM
My opinion is the cost of the land will not increase that much in that area in a year and you could make more money in that time on a fixer upper if you can really do most of the work yourself. Especially if you figure in the cost of gas for the commute.

There will still be land there when you are ready to buy and you could make a profit on the sale of you fixer upper and save money on gas.

Octavian
2/12/2006, 10:44 PM
Dont be penny-wise, dollar-foolish.

Buy da land.

OUAndy1807
2/12/2006, 10:45 PM
My opinion is the cost of the land will not increase that much in that area in a year and you could make more money in that time on a fixer upper if you can really do most of the work yourself. Especially if you figure in the cost of gas for the commute.