PDA

View Full Version : Anyone Fly Fish?

SoonerWood
2/6/2006, 01:24 PM
I'm considering getting into this type of fishing - I've never tried it before. First off, what's the big deal with fly fishing? I mean - what's the draw?

Is there's some advantage to fly fishing over baitcasting and spinning that I haven't considered?

I don't get it yet, maybe someone can 'splain it?

How much $$$ is needed to get into a decent outfit?

Partial Qualifier
2/6/2006, 01:38 PM
No advantages, just a different way to fish. Normally you're flying for trout, which spook easily so it takes a different, more thought-out approach. Definitely takes more patience unless you often fish in the Dead Sea or something and are used to going hours between bites.

IB4OU2
2/6/2006, 01:39 PM
I've dabbled with it but was never extremely serious. My attraction is that unlike baitcasting which does take some skill, using a fly rod is quite different because the weight of the line and the fly is all that you are casting and presenting to the fish. It takes a while to really make an accurate cast/presentation to a very shy fish in crystal clear water but when you do and the trout or game fish take your small offering then the fight is on and using the lighter rod with lightweight fly and tippit it can last a while. You can't overpower a fish with a fly rod you have to finnesse it and tire the fish so that it does'nt break off. Another reason I like flyfishing is the waters and locations you are fishing are generally mountainous, rocky and beautiful.

handcrafted
2/6/2006, 01:54 PM
I've tried a few times, but it's difficult to get the string to stay on tight enough, and there's usually not enough wind to get them airborne unless you've got like a really small trout. Forget using catfish or largemouth bass.

SoonerWood
2/6/2006, 02:46 PM
So how much $$$ to get into some gear that I won't regret later?

I usually like to buy once and cry once.

IB4OU2
2/6/2006, 03:50 PM