PDA

View Full Version : A Bridge Too Far is on AMC

Okla-homey
2/4/2006, 12:12 PM
I love that movie.

Airborne!

How far?

All The Way Sir!

kinda makes we want to put my knees in the breeze again.

SoonerProphet
2/4/2006, 02:29 PM
It is a good one, have it on dvd and saw with my pops when I was a young lad. Sean Connery and Anthony Hopkins were great Red Devils. Poor bastards caught some **** during Market Garden.

LoyalFan
2/4/2006, 08:46 PM
Okla-homey,

A recollection...

Me (at Ft. Riley, on the Autovon to Armor Branch Management, 1969): "Hey, why do I have orders to Jump AND Ranger training enroute to Vietnam?"
Some wit at ABM: "ALL Regular Army Combat Arms officers must attend both."
Me: "But I haven't taken my RA commission yet. Besides, I'm a horse soldier, not a grunt AND my degree is in Music."
Some WAABM: "We think you will take an RA. Besides, Armor officers can serve in any other arm. It only matters that you have a degree, not what your major was."
Me: "Can you airdrop an M60A1 or M48A3?"
SWAABM: "No."
Me: "Well, can't I just proceed to Vietnam and start having fun?"
Me: "#*$&^!"
SWAABM: "I've heard that before, enjoy your schools."...CLICK!

Someday I'll run across that smirking SOB and beat him senseless.
Still, the Jump Wings and Ranger flash looked pretty OK on the Class A's.

LF

Okla-homey
2/4/2006, 09:27 PM
Okla-homey,

A recollection...

Me (at Ft. Riley, on the Autovon to Armor Branch Management, 1969): "Hey, why do I have orders to Jump AND Ranger training enroute to Vietnam?"
Some wit at ABM: "ALL Regular Army Combat Arms officers must attend both."
Me: "But I haven't taken my RA commission yet. Besides, I'm a horse soldier, not a grunt AND my degree is in Music."
Some WAABM: "We think you will take an RA. Besides, Armor officers can serve in any other arm. It only matters that you have a degree, not what your major was."
Me: "Can you airdrop an M60A1 or M48A3?"
Me: "Well, can't I just proceed to Vietnam and start having fun?"
Me: "#*$&^!"