PDA

View Full Version : Mr.*Mrs.*Dr.*Ms.

MamaMia
1/30/2006, 12:36 PM
When I was growing up the physicians in our lives referred to my parents as Mr. and Mrs. *****. These days however, when I visit a physicians office I'am always referred to by my first name as opposed to my title and last name. The other day a, much younger than I, physician walked into the room and said "Hello 'Sally', I'm Dr.Smith. Now, I dont mind being called by first name but why are they opposed to not doing the same? Whats up with that?

homerSimpsonsBrain
1/30/2006, 12:38 PM
I'd be ****ed if they called my parents *****

critical_phil
1/30/2006, 12:39 PM
good question sally....

Mjcpr
1/30/2006, 12:41 PM
You're a Dr? I thought you were a chick. :confused:

*runs away*

OUDoc
1/30/2006, 12:42 PM
Sally, I refer to my patients by "Mr." or "Mrs." :D However, when I was a burn tech, I called my patients by their first names. Weird, huh?

Ike
1/30/2006, 12:44 PM
Doctor
http://ffmedia.ign.com/filmforce/image/gilliam7_light.jpg

MamaMia
Sally, I refer to my patients by "Mr." or "Mrs." :D However, when I was a burn tech, I called my patients by their first names. Weird, huh?
If I was all burned, I really wouldnt care what you called me. :D

TheHumanAlphabet
MDs want to lord over you that they have "status". I have a Ph.D. and my title/prefix should be Dr. However, everyone in my company refuses to call me by my title, however, the MDs are all called by their title, yet none do any real doctoring...It is truly a status thing. I go out of my way to refer to myself as Dr. THA when in a medical office just to tweek them...;)

Plus any Dr. knows Ph.D.s > than MDs because we graduated first at graduation...;)

Mjcpr
1/30/2006, 12:46 PM
Doctor
http://ffmedia.ign.com/filmforce/image/gilliam7_light.jpg

Dawktah.

:D

RUSH LIMBAUGH is my clone!
1/30/2006, 12:47 PM
My peeve here is when someone with a title seems perturbed if you don't call them by their title, or corrects you to do so.

OUstudent4life