PDA

View Full Version : Cell phone experts?

Penguin
1/7/2006, 08:59 PM
I recently went to Cingular wireless to setup services. Well, due to my nearly non-existant credit history, they wanted to charge me an ungodly deposit. So, I told them, "No dice, homeslice!" So, they wanted to sign me up on the pay-as-you-go plan, but they wanted to charge me an ungodly amount for a phone. I politely slapped the salesman in the face.

So, I went home and found a great phone on ebay and bought it. The phone is "locked" to Cingular (whatever that means, but I figure it's no big deal cuz I want Cingular anyways). Well, he shipped me the phone and there's no "SIM" card. I've never done this before, so I gotta ask: Will Cingular give me a new "SIM" card when I get their plan, or will they freak out that I didn't buy a phone from them? And, is it possible that the phone is hot and they will call the police as soon as they scan it? Also, I've read some things on the internet that you can "flash" the phone. What does this mean? I'm guessing it has nothing to do with what I do at elementary school playgrounds?

BTW, the phone I bought was a black Motorola Razr V3.

I don't want this thread to tell me that Cingular sucks or that I suck for not applying for a credit card or a loan for the past 5 years. My family all has Cingular and I want the free in-network minutes. And, I have never needed or wanted a credit card or loan for the past 5 years.

GottaHavePride
1/7/2006, 09:15 PM
Laughing at you for not having a credit card is Froze's job.

They should be ok with you getting the phone from another source. PG has one she got off eBay when her first phone got stolen and the replacement turned out to be a turd. I don't know about getting another SIMM card. I would assume "flashing" the phone either means recovering or wiping any information left in the phone's memory - the phones all have built-in memory separate from the SIMM card.