PDA

View Full Version : Crazy statistic from a crazy guy who likes numbers

CincySooner
12/8/2015, 09:03 AM
I've been tracking quarter-by-quarter box scores for OU games since I was a freshman in '98. I count up the scores after each quarter and count each individual quarter as a win, loss, or tie. Its not a predictive thing or anything like that, I just like to keep track.

Anyway, this year's results for OU are REALLY interesting, but before I get into that here are some points of reference. The national title team in 2000 won 75% of their quarters. Other seasons in which they won an outright Big12 championship (02,04,06,07,08,10) averaged winning 70% of their quarters. The down years of 99, 05, 09, and 14 averaged winning 60% of their quarters. (Incidentally, 2005 was the worst at 49%, which is STILL better than Blake's last year which was 37%...barf)

In 2015 OU has won 80% of their quarters.

Tennessee was the only game in which more than one quarter was lost (2). OU has only lost three quarters by double digits this year, 1Q Tennesse, 1Q Texas, and 4Q TCU.

I think it really speaks to the level of focus and preparation that the players and coaches have this year that they've been missing in the recent past. They come out swinging, and they don't let up.

Whatever happens in the playoffs, I'm proud of what the team has accomplished so far this year... BOOMER!!

olevetonahill
12/8/2015, 09:06 AM
I found a sack of quarters, Does that help?

SoonerMarkVA
12/8/2015, 09:27 AM
I found a sack of quarters, Does that help?

Wanna trade for this sack of wooden nickels?

olevetonahill
12/8/2015, 09:27 AM
Wanna trade for this sack of wooden nickels?

Heh.

Boomer.....
12/8/2015, 09:51 AM
Cool stat.

Spray
12/8/2015, 09:57 AM
I love this. Great stuff. I tend to do the same thing within a game, looking at possessions.

winout
12/8/2015, 11:21 AM
Interesting. You can think of each of the quarters in a game a report card. I'd say we are makin' an A at this point.