PDA

View Full Version : Gonna git a smoker...

rock on sooner
6/12/2014, 08:22 PM
I'm pretty good at smoking with my grill but have decided to get
a genuine smoker for me for Father's Day. Just want a family type,
gas type (to keep a good temp). Rilly love the smoked flavors.....

Y'all got any thoughts/suggestions?

bluedogok
6/12/2014, 08:47 PM
It all depends on budget, I use an offset and burn sticks.

salth2o
6/12/2014, 09:10 PM
Lots of variables to consider. I use an offset wood burning Lyfe Tyme smoker. There are some vertical smokers, but I have NO experience with them. I only use a gasser to grill.

bbq-brethren.com may be a good resource for research.

achiro
6/13/2014, 08:12 AM
If your budget allows, get a Traeger. Super simple to use(my wife uses it more than I do), flavor will compete with any other smoker, and you can cook, smoke, or grill on it. The only downside is that you have to have electricity to use it.

boomersooner001
6/13/2014, 07:37 PM
Check out www.bellfab.com

olevetonahill
6/13/2014, 07:46 PM
I've had one since I was a Baby
http://www.therightperspective.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/Baby-With_Bong.jpg

SanJoaquinSooner
7/31/2014, 01:43 AM
Hope you get it soon. Summer's half over.

rock on sooner
7/31/2014, 04:21 PM
Hope you get it soon. Summer's half over.

Got it...I grill outside year round & I'll do the same with the smoker....
I have a stone patio just off my deck so when I shovel snow that gets
it, too....

Curly Bill
7/31/2014, 07:55 PM
Smoking's more fun when it's kinda cold out. I actually do a lot more in the fall/winter than I do in the summer when it's too damn hot to wanna be outside messing with it.

rock on sooner
7/31/2014, 08:17 PM
Smoking's more fun when it's kinda cold out. I actually do a lot more in the fall/winter than I do in the summer when it's too damn hot to wanna be outside messing with it.

Best thing about doing it in the summer is that it REQUIRES
a copious amount of barley pop to complete the process!