PDA

View Full Version : Fastest car you ever drove?

Jacie
12/5/2013, 02:07 PM
The Paul Walker death got me thinking about this one.

I am talking about cars you drove on the street, not any kind of race car.

The fastest cars I have ever owned were a couple of 280Z's, a 76 and a 78. The 78 I used to drive back and forth between OKC and Dallas and it purred while making that run in less than 3 hours, speed between 90 and 100 mph. I was always leery of being stopped by Texas and Oklahoma state police because I didn't use a radar detector, taking care to slowdown just outside of Denton, near the Red River on the Texas side and for the OHP just south of the Arbuckle Mountain stretch. I never did try to find out how fast it would top out at though, the speedometer went to 140 but I assumed that was for looks (the 76's speedometer went to 160).

My older brother had a 71 Cutlass 442, a car that was way too easy to burn the tires from a standing start (in my defense, I was a new driver). Since it was his pride and joy, I never intentionally exceeded the speed limit in that car but from the power evident in the accelerator the potential to go way too fast was there.

olevetonahill
12/5/2013, 02:16 PM
Fastest CAR or the fastest I ever drove one?

KantoSooner
12/5/2013, 03:01 PM
A buddy's '67 GTO. He was a high school gearhead and you could practically eat off of the utterly bored out, blueprinted engine. It would do somewhere north of 140. I never had the stones to push it past 115 as the steering was rather ... 'light' ...at that point.

stoops the eternal pimp
12/5/2013, 03:06 PM
NOt sure which one was the fastest, but the 1993 Nissan 300zx twin turbo was definitely the most fun.

Boomer.....
12/5/2013, 03:09 PM
I rode in my buddies Camaro SS doing 160+mph down I-35.

mojorisen2014
12/5/2013, 03:27 PM
Mark VIII

Turd_Ferguson
12/5/2013, 05:54 PM
1985 Mustang LS 5.0, 5 speed convertible. it blowed my hairs back...

hawaii 5-0
12/5/2013, 06:34 PM