PDA

View Full Version : Question for old farts

badger
5/20/2013, 12:26 PM
What do you think when you hear young people say that they expect to be taken seriously or that you should be treating them with more respect?

I ask because Justin Bieber decided that his millions of dollars and skipping the pimple phase of puberty was not enough:

"I'm 19 years old. I think I'm doing a pretty good job...Basically from my heart I really just want to say it really should be about the music. It should be about the craft that I'm making. This is not a gimmick, and I'm an artist, and I should be taken seriously."

For the video version, start at about 2:10:
cAuHwxd1VBk

badger
5/20/2013, 12:28 PM
PS: I think I have SF.com stalkers --- whenever I post on a thread or start a new thread the number viewing that particular section suddenly jumps. To test this theory... off to talk hockey! And nobody watches hockey so it's the perfect test...

cleller
5/20/2013, 12:30 PM
If they want to be taken seriously they should act like it. You don't get respect by asking for it. Your actions either earn you respect or they don't.

Pretty hard to take someone serious who acts (and dresses) like a clown all the time.

badger
5/20/2013, 12:44 PM
Perhaps some people think that the only way you can get what you want is to ask for it. Want an iPad for Christmas? Ask for it. Want respect? Ask for it.

I tend to think that a lot of older people do not dole out respect as quickly as some of their younger counterparts. Is that wisdom with age, or just being an insuffererably old know it all? ;)

C&CDean
5/20/2013, 12:50 PM
When you get old Badger, you'll see. It's always funny to see young folks who have all the answers to all of life's problems. Or the ones who think they're immortal or bulletproof. Or the ones who get the adoration of their peers - but can't understand why mature (to them, old) folks just don't really take them seriously.