PDA

View Full Version : Oil Without Dead Things Creating It?

LiveLaughLove
12/30/2012, 08:32 PM
http://www.dailygalaxy.com/my_weblog/2012/11/horsehead-nebula-found-to-cloak-a-vast-interstellar-chemistry-lab.html

It seems there is massive oil refining going on in space and on moons and so probably on planets without living matter. As a former astrophysics major (which is kind of like being a former premed student I think), I found this to be very interesting, because I had long suspected it to be true. I do admit I had no basis for my belief. It has just always seemed completely odd to me how geologists try and describe how oil got in the Earth.

I have always believed it is more of a process deep in the Earth than dead things sinking into the Earth and somehow "cooking" and becoming crude oil.

The spectacular Horsehead Nebula in the Orion constellation is not only a favourite object of astronomy photographers all over the world, but apparently also a cosmic petroleum refinery.What sounds like science fiction is actually reality: using the 30m-telescope of the Institute for Radio Astronomy for astronomical observations in the millimetre range of wavelengths, astronomers have detected, for the first time, the interstellar molecule C3H+, in our galaxy, which belongs to the hydrocarbon family and is thus part of major energy resources of our planet, i.e. petroleum and natural gas.

"We observed the operation of a natural refinery of petroleum of gigantic size", said astronomer Jérôme Pety.
discovery of this molecule at the heart of the famous Horsehead Nebula in the Constellation of Orion also confirms that this region is an active cosmic refinery.

It seems an astronomy professor at Cornell named Thomas Gold wrote a book about how the Earth produces oil. He called it abiotic petroleum (it was actually a hypothesis put forth by Russian scientists in the late 40s or early 50s).