PDA

View Full Version : Newest DT offer, Charles Walker

Ruf/Nek7
12/17/2012, 10:05 AM
I started to research the enigma that is Charles Walker. The fact that he is a 2 star (per rivals) yet garnishes so much attention is fascinating to say the least. I am not claiming to be an expert but I am a football coach and after watching his highlight films, I have decided that Walker is very worthy of a 3 star rating and should be receiving more offers than what he has.

Here are some good things I saw in his videos. He has good size and can be explosive off the snap which is what you need at the 2 technique. He is a 5A student athlete so that means he is going up against some stiff competition so it is not like he is pounding away on smaller, weaker, 3A teams. And the fact that he is playing this well in Dallas should speak for itself. He has a real nose for the ball and is extremely aggressive, when he chooses to.

Some flaws i noticed. First off, he relies too much on his body and really avoids gaining separation from the blocker. He will have to learn to use his hands more as he will surely face stronger, bigger, and more powerful O-linemen at the college level. Secondly, I would love to see full game footage as it seemed as though some of his highlights showed a less explosive first step and some "leaning" on the blocker. The issue with watching highlights is just that, they are the players good plays. It leads me to question his work ethic. Now being that he is an underrated athlete (IMO) he may have a stronger desire to better himself daily and under our coaching staff, he could do just that. I hope we get a commitment out of him because I think he would be a great project that could yield some great results but it wouldn't be until his Junior year.

Again, these are my views and opinions and in no way shape or form am I an expert so feel free to critique me as you see fit.

KantoSooner
12/17/2012, 10:38 AM