PDA

View Full Version : Diver, one of my pizz ant indicator charts is at a critical junction

pphilfran
5/26/2012, 10:56 AM
What do you think?

My GDP/industrial electrical usage chart has a new month of data coming out later next week.

I have been charting this thing for about 5 years...and it shows Feb data as being the bottom each year other than the recession where usage hit bottom in Nov of the prior year...

The last data point on the blue line is the Feb number...based on the history we should see usage climb 3 or 4% in March...that happens every year...

Now, this would be just another year except... this year GDP contracted from Feb to Mar...(at least according to these guys..this is where all the monthly data comes from http://www.e-forecasting.com/US_Monthly_GDP.html)

You can see the contraction in GDP which is the red line

The dotted purple line is the original Fed quarterly forecast broken down into monthly data (again, done by the guys at e forcasting)..I wish I had the initial numbers going back further in history but I didn't think about it till later...that number should also be out this week...

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii187/pphilfran/gdp81-0933-1.jpg

OULenexaman
5/29/2012, 10:14 AM
I think you made his head hurt.

sappstuf
5/31/2012, 11:24 AM
I just saw that the quarterly GDP was reduced to 1.9%...

pphilfran
5/31/2012, 01:38 PM
I just saw that the quarterly GDP was reduced to 1.9%...

Nothing yet of the monthly number that is calculated from the quarterly numbers...

The electrical usage is out and it had the normal increase...up to 80694...that chart is looking good...stair stepping up...not nearly fast enough but at least it is going in the right direction...

When I get the new GDP numbers I will update the chart and post it here...I know, big deal....:)

It looks as if the lackluster expansion is going to continue....

pphilfran
5/31/2012, 01:48 PM
Thanks for the update...yep, down from an initial 2.2...