PDA

View Full Version : This just ****in STUPID

olevetonahill
5/9/2012, 10:23 PM
http://news.yahoo.com/fed-clears-chinas-first-us-bank-takeover-012927575.html

Chuck Bao
5/9/2012, 11:16 PM
http://news.yahoo.com/fed-clears-chinas-first-us-bank-takeover-012927575.html

This is my wheelhouse and I humbly disagree. This could be the start to much bigger things but this investment is not worth commenting on other than a Chinese bank being allowed to buy the very, very small banking operations of 13 branches in California and New York from a Hong Kong bank.

I was a banking analyst for the leading Hong Kong brokerage firm way back in the mid 80s. Back then, the Bank of East Asia was generally considered to be one of the most prudent and well-managed banks in Hong Kong. They had a ridiculously low loan-to-deposit ratio and I suppose this sale is driven by the fact that they were terribly hurt by exposure to investments in the 2008 sub-prime market and subsequent global financial crisis. Their corporate culture was always more about using deposits to invest rather than lending. That used to be a good thing and now it is a very bad thing.

And, I know ICBC. They've been in Bangkok for 20+ years and they are not that aggressive.

The Chinese really don't need access to the US deposits to do what they are doing to the global securities markets. If they were to buy a big bank, it would be a reason to be really concerned.

LiveLaughLove
5/9/2012, 11:58 PM
Well, I am probably opposed to this, beings it's China and all, and beings Chuck is ok with it, and since I rarely agree with him.

However, since I know less than diddly squat about it, I'll pull an Obama and vote "present" on it.

I might want to run for dog catcher some day and this thread isn't going to derail my plans, that's for sure.

Chuck Bao
5/10/2012, 12:31 AM
Well, I am probably opposed to this, beings it's China and all, and beings Chuck is ok with it, and since I rarely agree with him.