PDA

View Full Version : 2012 Defense: Mike's difference in opinion so far...

goingoneight
4/5/2012, 09:45 PM
Tony Jefferson out at nickel and in at the FS (slobber-knocker) position. Jefferson is just an awesome player, and I think he could have his best year yet at FS given his knack for finding the football and his natural skillset.

Mike says Gabe Lynn is more fit for safety... he got a lot of snaps long before the Tech fiasco last year, so obviously he's good enough at something. Interesting that Mike believes the switch might be a good move for him.

Same for Javon Harris, really... though he was not a corner supposedly out of position. I think JH loves to hit and hits well, but lacks that coverage ability that we've tried putting him in before. I'm no expert, but hearing he's had a great Spring and that Mike feels he's a good fit at SS is saying something given Mike's success at that position during his first five years here.

So three position moves so far... what Stoops brothers have kinda made a name for themselves doing here. I really and truly think if we don't have an absolute star emerge between Lamar Harris and Joe Powell, Colvin will be moved back to corner. Many signs point to that; but there's still much off-season to go. We were led to believe that Jonathan Nelson was going to move to CB in 2010 because Jamell Fleming couldn't handle it. Summer workouts and Fall camp changed that.

Mike also said earlier in the year how he felt Joseph Ibiloye was a great player and hinted that he felt he might have been under-utilized at OLB/NB. It's hard to say Ibiloye has a glaring weakness because he's been pretty solid most of the limited time I've seen him in games. Good all-around player who might have just not had a true position the last few years ala Tony Jefferson.