PDA

View Full Version : Judge orders woman to give up password to hard drive

JohnnyMack
1/24/2012, 10:15 AM
http://technolog.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2012/01/23/10219384-judge-orders-woman-to-give-up-password-to-hard-drive

What say you, amateur legal geniuses of the SO? Does this violate the 5th amendment?

OUDoc
1/24/2012, 10:22 AM
Is this different than enforcing a search warrant against your will?

rekamrettuB
1/24/2012, 10:31 AM
Hell if she doesn't give it to them I'm sure they have folks that can hack it. Probably just trying to save some money. If the laptop was seized as part of the investigation then she needs to give it up. Otherwise the judge will probably see her as not cooperating.

I am no lawyer. Somebody grade my response. I'm sure I'm way off. Common sense rarely is correct.

olevetonahill
1/24/2012, 10:33 AM
She has the right to remain silent, IMHO . **** em

Viking Kitten
1/24/2012, 10:38 AM
I can see the Fifth Amendment argument. Seize the computer and hack away, but don't expect her to incriminate herself.

olevetonahill
1/24/2012, 10:42 AM
I can see the Fifth Amendment argument. Seize the computer and hack away, but don't expect her to incriminate herself.
What SHE said

Breadburner
1/24/2012, 10:43 AM
**** the crooked bitch.....

yermom
1/24/2012, 10:47 AM
Gotta love the EFF

It's not trivial to break encryption like that

Personally, I'd be afraid of forgetting my password...

Midtowner
1/24/2012, 11:35 AM
I don't agree with the Judge at all. I know that if I was a prosecutor, I'd argue that there could not possibly be anything incriminating about the actual password, therefore, her 5th Amendment rights were irrelevant. That said, I think that is a pretty dangerous line of thinking. It'd be just like holding someone in contempt for not telling the police where the murder weapon was. Hopefully, this Judge is overturned. I really disagree with that line of thinking.

olevetonahill
1/24/2012, 11:39 AM