PDA

View Full Version : My 10 Year Reunion

SicEmBaylor
7/19/2011, 03:35 PM
Well, it's coming up in September. They've been organizing the thing since May. Now, keep in mind that I graduated with a class of around 100...90% of whom I went to school with for 12 years and we have nearly all kept in close contact the last 10 years. Hell, most of them see each other on a daily basis and didn't move outside of the FTG-Tahlequah-Muskogee axis. What I'm getting across here is...what's the point of going to all this trouble to organize this shin dig? I mean we didn't grow up in the 50's....our ability to keep in electronic communication has been pretty good over the years.

Anyway, if it were me I'd just rent a dance hall somewhere...bring in a bartender and hire a cheap DJ then call it a night but what the hell do I know? As it is, this is going to be a two-day affair involving a dinner somewhere in Muskogee and then a showing of our old senior video and some new slideshow they're putting together of then/now pics of everyone. Let's be honest here...the only thing most people want to do is drink. Granted a healthy portion of my class are so-called Baptists but they were iffy in HS so surely they've dropped the need to keep up appearances after all these years.

One thing that really bothers me about this is whether or not I want to show up. I still love my classmates deeply. I didn't just go to HS with these people, I went to K-12 with these people and grew up with them year after year after year. Plus, I loved HS so none of that is my issue. My problem with going is that there were some pretty high expectations of me by teachers and others when I graduated HS and I have failed to live up to every single expectation there was. The people I thought would be in prison by now have degrees, good jobs, and great families. I have years spent in an expensive *** private school with NOTHING to show for it aside from bad health and a chip on my shoulder.