PDA

View Full Version : Nailed it.

delhalew
7/5/2011, 12:42 PM
I'm pretty proud of myself, in general.

I've been expanding my culinary skills for about fifteen years. When I was 20, I skipped out on an opportunity to apprentice under a pastry chef.

All these years, I have ignored baking and the art of desserts. This weekend I made my first attempt at a cheese cake. It was PERFECT. Perfect taste, texture, and appearance. Slices are solid, no cracking.

For someone who rarely bakes anything other than biscuits, I am quite impressed with myself.

sooner_born_1960
7/5/2011, 12:44 PM
Congratulations.

DIB
7/5/2011, 12:51 PM
Baking is a big deal. You should be proud.

Mississippi Sooner
7/5/2011, 12:53 PM
I can grill and throw some cajun dishes together and all that, but I don't even attempt to bake. You have to be precise with all your ingredients when baking, and I get lost when I can't just throw in a little of this and a little of that and season as needed.

royalfan5
7/5/2011, 12:56 PM
Baking is the next frontier for me as well, unless I suddenly come into the space for heavy duty smoking equipment soon.

delhalew
7/5/2011, 12:57 PM
I can grill and throw some cajun dishes together and all that, but I don't even attempt to bake. You have to be precise with all your ingredients when baking, and I get lost when I can't just throw in a little of this and a little of that and season as needed.

There is a lot of **** I could have done wrong from the crust to the damn water bath to not letting it brown. It was worth it.

SoonerofAlabama
7/5/2011, 12:59 PM
I've never really understood how cheesecake is made.

delhalew
7/5/2011, 12:59 PM
Baking is the next frontier for me as well, unless I suddenly come into the space for heavy duty smoking equipment soon.

The only thing better than the overwhelming challenge, is victory.

Next step will either be Baguettes, or puff pastry.

delhalew
7/5/2011, 01:00 PM
I've never really understood how cheesecake is made.