PDA

View Full Version : HB 1289 - School Consolidation

PrideTrombone
1/30/2011, 11:26 AM
Bill looks at school overhead

A lawmaker has filed a bill to shift more funding to the classroom by reducing administrative overhead. House Bill 1289 would create county districts across Oklahoma outside of the Oklahoma City and Tulsa metro areas. School districts in Tulsa, Oklahoma, Rogers, Cleveland and Canadian counties would be restructured into one or more districts of 7,000 to 14,000 students each under the measure filed by Rep. David Derby, R-Owasso. The bill would not close any school sites but would require fewer school administrators, he said, as only one superintendent could be hired per district.

Read more: http://newsok.com/oklahoma-capitol-briefs/article/3534450#ixzz1CXKCD3O0

Thoughts? I'm a teacher, and I think this doesn't go far enough. I'd be in favor of closing school sites that are lower than a certain enrollment, if transporting students to a more distant site would be cheaper. I don't understand how some of these districts can claim to be offering sufficient educational opportunities with 15 teachers in an entire district.

Soonrboy
1/30/2011, 11:29 AM
As a principal I agree. I have almost 1000 students in my building alone. There are schools with less than 300 kids in it, and their principals make more than I do?? How is that equitable? Consolidate, get the money in the classrooms where it is needed!

okie52
1/30/2011, 11:34 AM
"Bill looks at school overhead