PDA

View Full Version : Beware of the educational-industrial complex

Okla-homey
1/29/2011, 07:16 AM
In the nearly 30 years since I graduated, look what's happened to the cost of higher education in this country. Mind you, a substantial number of college and grad school profs still love to rant about the greedy and immoral energy and health care sectors.

http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab7/Okla-homey/college163819_562882846365_26401167_32293708_34741 49_n.jpg

Flagstaffsooner
1/29/2011, 07:50 AM
And look what they're turning out at oSu...

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_B1LlYh6iKqs/StEvEkKyUlI/AAAAAAAABEk/_-f2ywoCsBc/s400/funny-ugly-people-4.jpg

MR2-Sooner86
1/29/2011, 08:26 AM
Mind you, a substantial number of college and grad school profs still love to rant about the greedy and immoral energy and health care sectors.

Homey! How dare you suggest our institutions of higher learning are liberal breeding grounds no matter how true it is.

Okla-homey
1/29/2011, 09:31 AM
Frankly, I think the student loan business is substantially to blame. Bear with me.

Federally-backed student loans are widely and freely available. Students borrow the money, knowing they won't have to repay until years later. Because of this, they feel no pain when they plunk down huge sums at the college bursars office to pay for absurdly high and unregulated tuition and fees.

IMHO, the student loan system is the crack pipe that keeps colleges addicted to tuition increases that are as annual as falling leaves in Autumn.

Contrast another federal program. Medicare caps what it will pay for a procedure. Now, bear with me. Since these loans are now made with public money, like Medicare payments, why is it that we think nothing of the gubmint saying we will only pay "x" for your Aunt Hildegard's coronary by-pass surgery to save her life, but the feds won't tell the educrats it will only pay "x" per contact hour?

Hmmmmm? I think its mostly to do with the political stroke of college and universities.