PDA

View Full Version : Rex Ryan/ OU DC

Mike Stoops
1/27/2011, 06:15 PM
I read on Wikipedia that he was OU's defensive coordinator in 1998. Does anyone remember his tenure here? I was a sophomore in high school at the time.

stoopified
1/27/2011, 06:53 PM
YES.In fact many players campaigned for Stoops to retain RR as DC when he took over.

85sooners
1/27/2011, 07:00 PM
YES.In fact many players campaigned for Stoops to retain RR as DC when he took over.yes they did

SoonerRoy
1/27/2011, 07:05 PM
Yes, I remember Rex's time here and was among those to wanted the new head coach to keep him. (Instead of making his brother the DC). But it worked out okay for everyone.

Soonerjeepman
1/27/2011, 07:11 PM
I was pullin for him to stay...but it did work out...!!

stoops the eternal pimp
1/27/2011, 07:24 PM
I remember being pissed that bob let him go and brought mike in...I thought it was a horrible move..

That 98 D was pretty good..the O just sucked so bad that they didn't stand a chance

Mike Stoops
1/27/2011, 07:29 PM
I wonder if he roots for OU? I think Buddy graduated from Oklahoma A & M (OSU) so he's probably a Poke fan.

Scott D
1/27/2011, 07:31 PM
I doubt Rex is upset with how things turned out for him.

Soonermagik
1/27/2011, 07:48 PM
Most of his time was spent at the waffle house and in pedicure salons.

Jacie
1/27/2011, 08:27 PM
I wanted RR to stay at the time. He had OU run the "46" defense and it was a huge improvement over the other Blake teams.

Before RR, Sooners allowed:
1996 - 36 ppg, 392 total
1997 - 32 ppg, 379 total

With RR, Sooners allowed:
1998 - 21 ppg, 229 total

Interestingly, after RR, Sooners allowed:
1999 - 19 ppg, 229 total (OU played 1 more game in '99 than '98)

That is not a huge statistical difference. The reason the Sooners' record was better under Stoops in '99 than Blake in '98 was due to the increase in offense output:

Before Stoops, Sooners scored:
1998 - 17 ppg, 184 total

With Stoops, Sooners scored:
1999 - 36 ppg, 430 total