PDA

View Full Version : VON MILLER'S "CRAMPS"

Sooner70
11/9/2010, 07:11 AM
This ain't sour grapes as anybody who can't punch the ball over the goal line in 3 attempts doesn't deserve to win, but I'm wondering about something here.

I'm not a football technician, nor a conspiracy theory advocate BUT.....

Does anybody else find Von Miller's repeated late game "cramps" problem kinda fishy?

Here's where I'm coming from. First of all, I thought "Leg Cramps" was a hot weather, high humidity venue issue. The temperature was in 70's, cool evening and humidity less than 30%.

Secondly, it seemed odd to me that Von Miller experienced these "cramps" at a time when OU's offense was in super hurry up mode and maybe aTm's D had their tongue hanging out. So, we have a timing opportunity issue.

Thirdly, the repeated incidents. Believe there were three at least. Now, if I'm a coach at a critical juncture of the game, wouldn't I pull the guy out fearing he'd cramp up on critical coverage and leave a guy open for a TD? That didn't happen.

Fourthly, the length of time. Man, this guy was on the ground a long time. Conveniently for the Defense to catch their breath.

Lastly, the sideline shots I saw showed Von Miller on the bench reclining by himself after these on field "cramps" incidents. I would though if he was having those severe problems, some trainers woulda been working with him, hydrating, stretching, etc. Didn't see it.

Like I say, I may be missing something here. It sure seems to me that when a tired defense faces high gear hurry up offense that has them on their heels,
maybe their options get pretty limited on what to do to stop the train. Undoubtedly, these type injury delays do indeed break the momentum of the offense, especially if they're rolling, and may hand the advantage back to the defense. Just a thought.