PDA

View Full Version : D. Miller's pass catching technique

Widescreen
9/9/2010, 05:03 PM
Last season I noticed that Miller, particularly on slant routes, leaves his feet to make the catch even when the pass it right at his numbers. He was doing it again last Saturday. I'm not a receiver expert but I'd think it would be better to keep your feet so you can run after the catch. Every time he leaves his feet, he gets tackled whether he catches the ball or not. Is this some kind of coaching technique to shield the ball or just a bad habit?

gaylordfan1
9/9/2010, 05:41 PM
Last season I noticed that Miller, particularly on slant routes, leaves his feet to make the catch even when the pass it right at his numbers. He was doing it again last Saturday. I'm not a receiver expert but I'd think it would be better to keep your feet so you can run after the catch. Every time he leaves his feet, he gets tackled whether he catches the ball or not. Is this some kind of coaching technique to shield the ball or just a bad habit?

I'm no WR coach either, but I'm guessing a bad habit. He is tall enough not to have to jump to catch most balls.

NormanPride
9/9/2010, 05:49 PM
He uses his stomach to catch the ball. His first catch he had to catch like 4-5 times because of this.

jumperstop
9/9/2010, 07:46 PM
Now that you point it out, it makes sense. He doesn't really get too many yards after catch. I was wanting to see more of him on Saturday though, he's still pretty good about finding a way to get open down field. I thought he would be a starter for sure after the way he was playing at the end of last season.

SoonerDood
9/9/2010, 09:40 PM
I'm not a receiver expert but I'd think it would be better to keep your feet so you can run after the catch.

That's the first rule of playing WR. Never leave your feet. It's either a sign why Miller isn't on the field more, or that we need a new WR coach.

sooner KB
9/9/2010, 10:01 PM