PDA

View Full Version : NEED HELP / ADVICE ABOUT OU STUDENT LIFE

PLaw
9/5/2010, 11:03 AM
Okay, after being locked and loaded on going to TTU for the past three years, my son made a u-turn and has decided to go to OU next fall. He plans to enroll in the aviation school.

I've been around Norman and the campus all of my life. My dad is a NHS grad from the late 40's and they still live South of Norman. Unfortunately, we were like a lot of other Okies that got transplanted to West Texas and I went to Tech. I have very little experience with the OU student life scene.

Okay, all of the said, I (we) need some advice about the best dorms, things to avoid, and if you had it all over to do again - what would would you do?

Thank you for any guidance you can provide.

BOOMER

Serge Ibaka
9/5/2010, 11:17 AM
There are 3 very large dormitories (Walker Center, Couch Center, Adams Center) where the majority of freshmen live. They aren't great, by any means, but they're good-enough, and they're the best place to be from a social-standpoint.

Avoid the Cate-Center dorms.

Greek Life is really big on campus, and if your son intends to pledge, he'll probably have it made. If Greek-Life isn't his sort of thing, there are still kids always congregating around the dorms (all of the dormitories are within a 500 yard radius, and there are always social-events to serve those students).

If your son doesn't pledge, I would simply suggest that he finds a way to get involved on campus--there are co-ed service fraternities; there are intermurals; etc.

I didn't really take part in this sort of stuff until I was a little bit older, and I didn't meet as many people my Freshmen year as I would have liked.

PLaw
9/5/2010, 11:28 AM
Spot on, Serge. Thank you for the advice.

I was a Sig Ep at Tech and pledged during my second year. I realize that frats have differing personalities from campus to campus. Sounds like you are a Greek - any advice on OU's frats.