PDA

View Full Version : DeMarco Murray talking with 1430's Chris Plank at Media Days:

goingoneight
7/29/2010, 12:17 AM
When asked about returning kickoffs:

"I love to do it, I've done that ever since I started playing football. I hope, we'll see if Coach Stoops lets me again this year."

Now, a couple of things...

Remember that our team did NOTHING in the KOR department last year. NOTHING. So much for the argument that all you need is a fast guy back there. We had two of our fastest guys back there. It takes vision and skill to be great.

Broyles? That was punt returns.

As for the folks who claim it's too dangerous... how is it anymore dangerous than running between the tackles and catching swing passes?

First injury: DM was on the "hands" team. If OUr team is down, needs an onside kick to preserve a NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP RUN (ah-ahem... 2007 at Tech)... I would hope that we throw out the argument about who we're gonna hurt and have the best guys out there. Everybody else in the country would agree with me.

Second injury: Opening kickoff of the 2008 BIG 12 CCG, Murray takes a helmet-shot to the knee. Again, how can we prevent this from happening to anybody? Answer: we can't. If we're going to sideline OUr best players to protect them, then Broyles needs to sit out for the whole game instead of crossing the middle and returning punts as a slot-receiver and returnman.

Don't mistake me for jumping on our fans, I'm merely pointing out that Murray and Broyles appear to clearly be two of the best returnmen in the country, and have been for three years running (I would say). I would love nothing better than to see a couple of new guys with that special ability step it up and dominate. But truth is, Stoops's best teams feature his premier athletes on special teams. So who knows? Maybe Franks and Finch can be the speedsters we need to improve on last year's silent KOR game? Maybe someone else.