PDA

View Full Version : Regarding the BP cleanup of the oil spill

BudSooner
5/27/2010, 07:25 AM
Does anyone actually think this procedure will actually work?
I've looked at so much material telling how it is supposed to work, and on paper it doesn't look like it's going to work, then again i'm no rocket scientist.
"Top Kill" sounds like a fat kid doing a belly flop into a pool fwiw.

Bourbon St Sooner
5/27/2010, 10:05 AM
I get the part about shooting mud into the hole and that seems to be pushing the hydrocarbons back into the well, but I'm curious about how you get cement to set in the hole with the hc pushing back against it.

BudSooner
5/27/2010, 10:15 AM
, but I'm curious about how you get cement to set in the hole with the hc pushing back against it.

That is the part I cannot figure out, it makes no sense doing this part last.
Sending the cement down first, maybe and I doubt this works as it sounds like a way of BP buying time while trying another solution down the road.

Howzit
5/27/2010, 10:24 AM
Topkill has nothing to do with the cleanup, this is to stop more oil from getting into the Gulf.

Howzit
5/27/2010, 10:29 AM
I read an interesting article in the Dallas Morning News last Saturday about technology that Kevin Costner acquired the rights to after filming Waterworld. This isn't the same article, but gives some info.

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601088&sid=aH92USkWdYyA

Kevin Costner Leads Pack of 23,500 With Gulf Oil Cleanup Ideas

Commentary by Mike Di Paola

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/data?pid=avimage&iid=ioQSvvFliyDs

May 27 (Bloomberg) -- Last week in the Gulf of Mexico, actor Kevin Costner sparked headlines when he unveiled a device that appears to do a fine job of cleaning oil out of water. Some commentators seized the opportunity to make “Waterworld” jokes, but BP Plc (http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/quote?ticker=BP%2F%3ALN) took his machine seriously enough to be testing it this week.