PDA

View Full Version : I can now rest in peace

C&CDean
2/5/2010, 07:29 PM
Yesterday, the 4th of my 5 sons enlisted in the Army National Guard.

I was beginning to worry. I mean pop was a 3-war vet, I'm a vet, and so far, not a single grandkid or great-grandkid of my pop enlisted. We're talking a stand of 11 male enlistment eligible males here. At his swearing in momma said the dude doing the swearing said "less than 1% of the population enlists into the military. Is that true? I mean WTF? Where have our values gone? We've got a bunch of computer nerdies who can only shoot an M-16 if it's on a video game. It really does concern me.

Anyhow, God bless you Luke. I'm prouder than punch.

OUHOMER
2/5/2010, 07:32 PM
Well good for him, i think these young folks can not handle anybody yelling at them, or telling them what to do.

Turd_Ferguson
2/5/2010, 07:33 PM
Good jorb Luke!!

olevetonahill
2/5/2010, 07:41 PM
Grats Dean , Tell him i'm proud of him also.

ouduckhunter
2/5/2010, 07:44 PM
Good for him!! Thanks for your service, and thanks for bringing him up right!!

C&CDean
2/5/2010, 07:49 PM
I'll do it Howie. The boy is chomping at the bit. I tried to convince him to go RA, but they wag a pretty good carrot in front of them for the guard. 2-years of school - without deployment overseas, and if your GPA is high enough, a chance at ROTC after the 2 years. Plus, a $10K bonus. For the guard.

His MOS is gonna be 55M. Equipment Operator. The boy has already run enough tractors/trucks/skid loaders/backhoes/dozers/etc. to be able to teach the ****ing AIT class. What's weird is that he scored high enough on the tests to pretty much choose any MOS. I'm happy he chose one that will always insure work after the military. Did I mention I'm proud of him?

Okla-homey
2/5/2010, 07:59 PM
Good on him. Service to one's country in her armed forces, especially in time of war, is the noblest duty a citizen can perform.