PDA

View Full Version : Goal Line Offense??

Gandalf_The_Grey
9/12/2009, 08:13 PM
I am just wondering what everyone thinks about this. I have seen at least 6 teams REALLY struggle today with a First and Goal and such forth. Does everyone think the passing ways of college football, that offensive linemen are somewhat soft? If I was a coach, I would honestly find 7 guys that weigh 250 pounds or more that will fire off and kill someone. I mean if it takes Gerald McCoy, then so be it. This does not appear to just be an exclusive OU problem though.

JLEW1818
9/12/2009, 08:20 PM
I have no problem using GM like a Warren Sapp

IronHorseSooner
9/12/2009, 08:28 PM
I have noticed that all around as well, I have also noticed that MANY teams have been incorporating the "Meerkat." With those two trends, I think that offenses have became too complicated. Instead of just firing off of the ball and seeing who the bigger man is, teams are trying to overthink the situation. Even FLA "struggled" when they used the Meerkat.

soonermagic14
9/12/2009, 09:44 PM
I was thinking the same thing today about our goal line OL....just send in our D line and tell 'em to kill the guy in front of you and run the ball right off MCoy's heels.....dont think just kill ( and leave in Eldridge at center)

i know it'll never happen but it is a mentality thing

PhiDeltBeers
9/12/2009, 09:49 PM
There's no excuse for not scoring against Id St. on the goalline. Period.

LawtonBoy74
9/12/2009, 10:09 PM
I have to agree with you Phi Delt.. that is really really sad

tulsaoilerfan
9/12/2009, 10:10 PM
There's no excuse for not scoring against Id St. on the goalline. Period.

Yup that was pretty bad offensive line play right there

PhiDeltBeers
9/12/2009, 10:11 PM
Id St's D line averaged 150 lbs!!!

Gandalf_The_Grey
9/12/2009, 10:16 PM