PDA

View Full Version : Keith Nichol not the starter..but will play

stoops the eternal pimp
9/2/2009, 10:00 AM
Michigan State has tabbed sophomore Kirk Cousins as its starting quarterback for Saturday's season opener against Montana State.

Head coach Mark Dantonio announced Cousins as the starter Tuesday but added that sophomore Keith Nichol, a transfer from Oklahoma who paced Cousins throughout the spring and summer, will play as well. Cousins served as Brian Hoyer's backup last season and completed 74.4 percent of his passes for 310 yards with two touchdowns and an interception.

"It was probably the most difficult decision I've had in reference to starting a particular player since I've been a head coach," Dantonio said. "They played very well, they show good leadership, they make plays on the field and they've had good camps and great springs.

"But in the end, it was Kirk's experience on the game field in Spartan Stadium, a little bit more game experience, more game management, that allowed him to get the nod."

Nichol sat out last season after transferring and last played in 2007, when he had seven pass attempts for Oklahoma. Both Cousins and Nichol put up the same statistics in Michigan State's spring game -- 357 pass yards, 4 touchdowns -- and Nichol seemed to have the statistical edge in several preseason scrimmages.

Dantonio said both quarterbacks handled the decision well. Nichol is also expected to play in the first half of Saturday's game, but both quarterbacks indicated to ESPN.com last week that the team wants to identify a clear starter by the time it visits Notre Dame on Sept. 19.

Last week, Cousins became just the second sophomore in Michigan State's 112-year history to be named a team captain, but his selection didn't play a major role in Dantonio's decision about the starter.